Ten outstanding scientists awarded with Neuron Awards in total amount of 9 million CZK

The annual Neuron Awards have been granted on the ceremony evening of December 3, 2018. The unprecedented amount of 9 million CZK was donated fully by Neuron's benefactors. It has been granted to 10 outstanding scientists in 3 categories. The categories are the Neuron Award for Young Scientists, the Neuron Research Discovery Award and the Neuron Award for Contribution to Science that has been granted to Jan Klein, biologist and founder of immunogenetics.  The final choice was made by the members of the Neuron Science Advisory Board and the International Science Board members who guarantee the highest world standard.


The Award winners won in seven scientific fields - social sciences, medicine, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology and computer science. 

Neuron Award for Contribution to Science - Jan Klein - biology
Jan Klein is considered one of the founders of modern immunogenetics following the work of J. G. Mendel. His major research focus was on the histocompatibility complex, which comprises of series of genes, which play a critical part in the initiation of the adaptive immune response.

Neuron Research Discovery Award - Tomáš Jungwirth - physics
Tomáš Jungwirth is a recognized scientist in the field of Spintronics that is behind the virtually unlimited data storage on the internet. He has contributed to discoveries of new magnetic materials that are potentially suitable for making of ultrafast memories for digital or neuromorphic computing.

Neuron Research Discovery Award - Petr Pyšek - biology
Petr Pyšek is the second most cited scientist in Czech Republic. He specializes in invasion ecology and specifically in finding the best way to quantify the level of invasion by non-native animals and plants by reviewing the advantages and disadvantages of different metrics.

Neuron Research Discovery Award - Tomáš Mikolov - computer science
Tomáš Mikolov and his colleagues developed a word2vec model, that can be used to incrementally teach a machine the basics of natural-language-based communication, as a prerequisite to more complex interaction with human users. They have presented conjectures on the type of algorithms the machine should support in order to profitably learn from the environment. He stands behind the steep improvement of Google translator.

Neuron Award for Young Scientists - Benjamin Vejnar - mathematics
Benjamin Vejnar is one of the most talented young Czech mathematicians. His specialization is topology, classification of complex topological spaces.

Neuron Award for Young Scientists - Filip Kolář – biology
Filip Kolář studies the plant evolution. He examines the way plants adapt to the environment changes using the duplication of DNA

 Neuron Award for Young Scientists - David Kosař – social sciences
David Kosař is the first Czech researcher in the field of social sciences to be awarded a Starting Grant by the ERC. He focuses on the impact of the rise of judicial self-government in EU member states on the principle of separation of powers.

Neuron Award for Young Scientists - Lukáš Slodička – physics
Lukáš Slodička and his team are the first in the world to detect the quantum properties of light emitted from a large number of single-atom sources. This light, also called non-classical, has properties elusive to common optics. It may have application uses in quatnum techologies that are undergoing major boom, for example telecommunications and quantum computing.  

Neuron Award for Young Scientists - Hana Macíčková Cahová – chemistry
Hana Macíčková Cahová focuses on revealing new function of non-coding mainly regulatory RNAs. She believes that chemical RNA modifications are responsible for the vast majority of various RNA functions. But only few of them have been discovered so far, mainly because of the lack of sensitive methods.

Neuron Award for Young Scientists - Marek Mráz - medicine
Marek Mráz is one of a few Czech scientists who have been awarded a European Research Council (ERC) starting grant. He focuses on intensive research on the origins and cure of chronic lymphocyte leukaemia which is the most common type of leukaemia.
He tries to understand the details of the mechanisms responsible for illness development. He strives to implement new discoveries about molecule interactions that may lead to more effective therapy.